Motivation. I haz it.

June 24, 2010 by AnnMarie


It seems every time I’m ready to leave the gym, even though I’m wiped out, drenched in sweat and couldn’t possible go on, a particular song comes pounding over the speakers that gets me pumped up. I swear, it’s like someone at serius satellite knows when I’m about to call it quits. I hear that song and feel like doing one more round. Hitting the bag a bit more. Crunching my abs some more. I try to keep that song in my head whenever I start to feel like I’m pooping out. It works! I find a little spark of energy left in my reserve tank and push through.

Last October I ran a half marathon that didn’t allow ipods on the course. WTF?! I thought there’d be no way I could finish without the motivational push from my carefully selected and awesomely peppy playlist. As I started running, I kept another song in mind and pretty much played that one song over and over in my head the entire time. It was the perfect pace for my run and turned out to be the ultimate zone out – it worked! Even to this day if I run without music (like when the battery dies mid-run) that song pops into my head and saves the day.

Music works for me. What else works is when some of the girls can out-do me at certain exercises in class (I’d kill to be able to do even one pull-up!). I think “well shit, I can’t let so-and-so beat me at that!” and it drives me to try harder, push further. That is the beauty of this class: Friendly fire peer pressure. We have it. I can see it in other peoples eyes too. No one wants to be the first to drop. No one wants to be the slowest. No one wants to be left in the dust. It’s pretty inspiring to see how hard everyone works!

Finding what motivates you is so important to keeping up your fitness routine. Of course that’s different for everyone. If you’re not working out as much as you’d like or you’re not seeing the results you want you need to dig deep and take honest stock of what you want (to drop a size, 6 pack abs, toned arms, to get up the stairs without wheezing) and what drives you to want it (vanity, strength, health, pride).

Once you’re able to take an honest look at yourself and your goals, use the tools that inspire you as motivation, be it music, competitiveness, or reaching a fitness milestone such as being able to run a race, climb a mountain, or, oh I don’t know, maybe being able to do a pull-up or two.

See you in the gym!

Happening In the Gym

Bat bag. Always a favorite. Huginator. A friendly reminder that you don't need a gym or even a building to do this. Just saying. Surprise guest at the end!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 932 other followers

About Us

Private, women's only boxing gym NO CONTRACTS EVER Affordable, upfront pricing No intimidation All skill and fitness levels No experience needed Individual attention Real boxing drills Great friends & tons of fun

Past Blogs

