Push it real good

2

June 30, 2010 by AnnMarie


Ok, so Salt ‘n Pepa weren’t talking about “working up a sweat” in the gym, but the sentiment works here too. I’ve hit a plateau since Bikini or Bust month and need to push through it. How? You guessed it: pushin’ it.

“Coolin’ by day and at night workin’ up a sweat!”

Classes have been jam packed lately (I’ve added 2 more classes a week starting next week!) It’s tough for me to get in a good workout when the class has been so full, but I’m determined to break through this plateau and get my friggin’ six pack back! Tired of sucking in my gut again. I did that for years! I know I’m not alone on that. You’ve done it too. Admit it.

So my goal is to get in a solo workout at least 30 minutes 3 times a week, hitting the bags hard core and targeting my abs, back and arms with strength training and conditioning. And none of that sissy crap…

I’m going to;

  • bump the weights up
  • bump the reps up
  • bump the intensity WAY up
  • and lastly, I’ll heed my own motto: If you can’t do just one more, do ten more.

I’m back in full marathon training mode, so I know I’ll get plenty of cardio running 3 to 4 days a week. I can’t stress enough how effective running (or even jogging) is at shedding fat and inches. I know many people are not huge fans of running. I never used to be! It took crossing the finish line just one time in a 5 mile race for me to get hooked. Give it a try. Run a 5k (3.2 miles – easy!) and see how you feel when you step across that line.

Whatever works for you, get yourself there.

  • Add another 5lbs to the bar
  • Do another 10 squats
  • Get a little lower to the ground with those push-ups.
  • Hit the bag a little harder than you think you can

Yesterday, after cleaning a condo, cleaning the gym, running 40 minutes above my comfort level then working in three and a half hours worth of classes, I left the gym drenched in sweat head to toe – I could have wrung out about a gallon of sweat from my clothes. I looked liked I’d just stepped out of the ocean and I’m sure I smelled like dirty armpit. But it felt good. It felt like progress.

I know you can do it too. For just one hour today, push yourself outside your comfort zone and you will be pleasantly psyched the hell up to do it again tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Push it real good

  1. Crissy says:

    I like it! Very motivating 🙂

  2. Kristina says:

    you are so inspiring Ann Marie, reading your blog makes me want to get up and move! I hope some of that self-motivation rubs off on me in your class. 🙂

Comments are closed.

Happening In the Gym

Workout of the week part 1 Even tough coaches still gotta take care of the menial sh*t. That goes for you ladies in the gym too. Do your road work, jump rope and fine tune your form. Then? Go kick some ass. #empoweredwomen #boxingworkouts #womenwhobox This is her jam. @kelseybhope #speedbag #womenwhobox

Call or Text Today

904-962-9960

Hours & Location

2010 Kings Circle South
Neptune Beach, FL 32266

Monday & Wednesday:
5:30pm & 6:45pm
Tuesday & Thursday:
6:30pm

Saturdays:
10am location varies & sign up required

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 932 other followers

About Us

Private, women's only boxing gym NO CONTRACTS EVER Affordable, upfront pricing No intimidation All skill and fitness levels No experience needed Individual attention Real boxing drills Great friends & tons of fun

Past Blogs

