Hey, you got your chocolate in my peanut butter!

June 28, 2011 by AnnMarie


Some of us Bunnie have a pretty serious sweet tooth making it hard to stick with healthy eating habits. I recently saw someone gobble down a couple of big brownies topped with a hot fudge sundae. The dish was twice the size of my entire dinner. I actually felt a little sick when I saw the completely empty plate after. I didn’t feel so bad for eating a little 1 inch square petit four that was pure sugar. Now every time my sweet tooth flares up, all I have to do is picture the disappearance of that massive amount of dessert and I’m good.

For those times when I’m not so strong, these are my many go to sweet treats. Give them a try! You’ll see I have a thing for PB and dark chocolate.

* Dark chocolate squares with a smear of natural peanut butter (make sure you get the true dark chocolate, NOT milk chocolate and don’t use that low fat peanut butter crap)

* Granny smith apple slices on top of baked rice crackers and peanut butter (find the baked rice crackers by the fortune cookies in the ethnic food aisle).

* Triscuits with peanut butter and dark chocolate bits (or go to World Market for their dark chocolate version of Nutella – Amazing!)

* Cascadian farms has dark chocolate granola cereal that is a great late night snack w/ milk but keep the portion small (great fiber and protein source)

* Melt dark chocolate squares in a double boiler with a little splash of milk and dip strawberries in it (to die for!)

* A good sweet breakfast is toaster waffles topped with peanut butter and frozen berries (raspberry, blueberry, blackberry). Let the berries melt just a bit then dig in. I use gluten free waffles, but you can do low fat or whole grain versions.  You could fold it in half and make a waffle taco or put a second waffle on top for a waffle sandwich.

Dark chocolate bars can get expensive. I found Dollar General has a really great bar for only $1! Just as good as the $3 -4 bars. Also, try Smart Balance peanut butter to get extra omega-3.

Happening In the Gym

Bat bag. Always a favorite. Huginator. A friendly reminder that you don't need a gym or even a building to do this. Just saying. Surprise guest at the end!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 933 other followers

About Us

Private, women's only boxing gym NO CONTRACTS EVER Affordable, upfront pricing No intimidation All skill and fitness levels No experience needed Individual attention Real boxing drills Great friends & tons of fun

Past Blogs

